Check_MK Werk 6417: Users may disable notifications by accident after upgrading to 1.5.0

Tom Baerwinkel tb at mathias-kettner.de
Mon Nov 12 12:50:43 CET 2018


ID:          6417
Title:       Users may disable notifications by accident after upgrading to 1.5.0
Component:   Notifications
Level:       2
Class:       Bug fix
Version:     1.6.0i1

Due to a rendering issue in the personal settings the option "Temporarily disable
all notifications" is always set in the GUI when a user or admin edits the settings
for the first time after an update to version 1.5.0.

If the user or admin then saves the settings and does not enable the notifications,
the setting is saved and the user does not receive notifications anymore. If a
user profile was not modified after an update, notifications worked as expected.
If a profile is saved for the first time after an update, the old configuration
file format is transformed to the new format. After that the setting is rendered
correctly.

To circumvent any problems please make sure that the notification settings of all
users are set properly after the update and that the settings are saved at least
once with the correct value.

For a large amount of users it may be tedious to change the settings off all users.
In this case it may be more straight forward to edit the file
~/etc/check_mk/conf.d/wato/contacts.mk directly. In the file all values for the key
"disable_notifications" have to be modified. The old value "True" has to be replaced
by the dictionary "{'disable': True}" and the old value "False" has to be replaced
by the empty dictionary "{}".

The issue is fixed in version 1.5.0p8. If you update from 1.4.0 to a version
>= 1.5.0p8 you are not affected by this issue.



More information about the checkmk-werks-lvl2 mailing list